IPOB opens up on alleged faction


The Indigenous People of Biafra, IPOB, has debunked reports making the rounds that the secessionist group has a different faction.

It reports that following the rearrest of the IPOB leader, Nnamdi Kanu in June 2021, there have been reports that a faction broke out of the secessionist group.

Simon Ekpa, a Finland-based self-acclaimed disciple of Kanu, alongside his loyalists and group called the Autopilot has been issuing directives contrary to that of IPOB.

It can report that Ekpa had via his Twitter handle and YouTube channels directed several IPOB members to embark on sit-at-home without the approval of the IPOB’s administrative body, called Directorate Of States (DOS) headed by Mazi Chika Edoziem.

Members of the Autopilot and DOS have severally engaged in a war of words, particularly on social media.

However, in a statement by its spokesperson Emma Powerful, IPOB on Tuesday called on Nigerians and the entire world to ignore any acclaimed faction, stressing that IPOB is one body.

The statement accused Autopiloters of being sponsored by the government alleging that they are paid to infiltrate IPOB.

The statement reads partly, “Therefore, IPOB leadership (DOS) wish to reiterate to Biafrans, lovers of freedom and to the media that IPOB under Mazi Nnamdi KANU has no factions and will not relent in piloting the movement until our leader Mazi Nnamdi KANU is out from DSS dungeon.

“Autopiloters are a government-sponsored group paid to Infiltrate IPOB and create an impression that IPOB has faction.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Also read...

2023 Election: Why Ekiti North 1 Needs Congressman Bimbo Daramola for Another Term
17 February 2023
Osun East: Atakumosa East Residents Endorse Sen. Fadahunsi for Second Term
10 February 2023
2023 Election: Ijesha Soccer Ambassadors Endorse Senator Fadahunsi for Second Term
04 February 2023
Debate: I Will Deliver More Dividends If Given The Opportunity To Return, Sen Fadahunsi Assures Constituents
18 January 2023
1 2 3 1,070