Buhari approves establishment of polytechnics in Abia, Delta and Kano


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of three new polytechnics in various parts of the country.


The Director of Public Relations at the Federal Ministry of Education in a statement on Tuesday April 12, said the new institutions will be located in Kano, Abia and Delta states.


Goong said in the statement;


“In line with his determination to make tertiary education more accessible, President Muhammadu Buhari (GCFR) has approved the establishment of three New Federal Polytechnics in the country.

“The polytechnics are to be sited in Umunnoechi in Abia State, Orogun in Delta State and Kabo in Kano State.”


According to the director, the new Institutions are to commence academic activities in October 2022.


This brings to thirty-six the number of federal polytechnics in the country, with every state having one of the institutions.


The approval of the new institutions came a few weeks after the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics issued threats of a strike to the Federal Government for failing to revitalise the existing polytechnics in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Also read...

FG, USAID other Stakeholders brainstorm to improve the state of Nutrition in the country.
13 October 2022
Truly A Festival of Ideas
11 October 2022
Erelu Bisi Fayemi: A First Lady With a Class
10 October 2022
Photospeak: Pictures capture moments at the Capacity Building training programme
03 October 2022
1 2 3 1,059